Facebook Is About To Delete A Load Of Our Old Photos

Facebook really does have it in for us. First they ply us into using our precious storage space up on their Messenger app, and now the social media platform is threatening to delete all our snaps unless we download another. Yes, really.

We’re not sure if you’ve noticed, but over the last couple of months a bar featuring every photo in your camera roll has been showing at the top of Facebook’s homepage and, without you knowing, Facebook has uploaded them into a private folder. But they’re all about to disappear…

In an official statement, the brains behind the app said: “Photos you privately synced from your phone to Facebook will be deleted soon. Earlier this year, they were moved to Moments, a new app from Facebook. If you want to keep these photos, download and log into Moments before 7 July. If you don’t want Moments, download these photos directly to your computer from your Facebook profile before 7 July.”

 


SEE: Using Facebook Is The Same As Using Cocaine

 

Facebook has privately stored all photos from your camera roll

 

 

 

 

Yikes. We’re not quite sure what’ll happen to the snaps you publically shared (cm’on Facey B, that’s a step too far), but either way, the risk of losing any old snaps is one we aren’t prepared to take.

As for the new app, it’s not all bad. Moments will play host to a photo sharing feature in which you and your friends can swap pics and save them to your own camera rolls in a flash. Plus, the live photo stream at the top of Facebook’s timeline was an accident waiting to happen – one drunk scroll and BAM, bikini selfies galore.

All things considered then, we’d recommend downloading Moments pre July 7th. And Facebook, if you’re reading this, cut us some slack…