Congrats! Rumer Wins Mojo Breakthrough Award

A big congratulations to Sarah Joyce – otherwise known as singer-songwriter Rumer – who picked up the prize for best newcomer at the Mojo awards 2011 in London last night. To top it off, she was also nominated for best album of the year for her debut, Seasons of My Soul.

But we’re pretty sure Rumer would be happy for her fellow nominees Artic Monkeys, who went home with the best album gong for their forth album, Suck It and See. Well done to all!

The Mojo winners:

  • Breakthrough award – Rumer
  • Song of the year – Heathen Child by Grinderman
  • Best album – Suck It and See by Arctic Monkeys
  • Classic album award – Screamadelica by Primal Scream
  • Best live act – John Grant
  • Les Paul award – Steve Cropper
  • Compilation of the year – Sweet Inspiration: Songs of Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham
  • Catalogue release of the year – Coals to Newcastle by Orange Juice
  • Merit award – Martha and the Vandellas
  • Medal award – Bob Harris
  • Hero award – Eddie Floyd
  • Maverick award – Donovan
  • Inspiration award – Gary Numan
  • Classic songwriter award – Squeeze
  • Vision award – Upside Down
  • Outstanding contribution to music – Public Image Ltd
  • Icon award – Ringo Starr
  • Hall of fame award – Brian Wilson